New Zealand win the toss and elect to make first use of the pitch here at Cardiff. ‘The wicket has a green tinge and we want to make first use of it,’ says New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson. ‘We don’t have much pressure as no-one expects us to do well but we want to show Sri Lankans what we can do,’ says Sri Lanka captain Dimuth Karunaratne.


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult, Matt Henry

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Isuru Udana, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal

Two blows for New Zealand are the absences of Henry Nicholls and Tim Southee who are not fit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.